Joseph C. Maroon MD Distinguished Medical Alumni Award from IU Medical School

INDIANAPOLIS  June 11, 2022– The Indiana University School of Medicine is recognizing Joseph C. Maroon MD with the Distinguished Medical Alumni Award at the 75th Annual Alumni Luncheon on June 11 at the Indianapolis Marriott North.  It is the highest award given to a medical alumnus out of approximately 25,000 IU medical alumni. The luncheon is part of the school’s Medical Alumni Weekend. Dr. Maroon was selected for the annual Distinguished Alumni Award from all IU medical school graduates based on his  professional achievements and service to IU School of Medicine.

Distinguished Medical Alumni Award

Joseph C. Maroon, MD ’65, is a clinical professor of neurosurgery at the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center, longtime team neurosurgeon to the Pittsburgh Steelers and medical director for World Wrestling Entertainment. His research interests include the development of minimally invasive surgical procedures for the brain, orbit and spine; traumatic brain injuries; and diseases related to aging.

He served as president of the Congress of Neurological Surgeons, the largest society of neurosurgeons in North America. He co-developed the ImPACT® neurocognitive test for concussion management, now a standard of care for the NFL and all contact sports. He is a member of the NFL Head and Spine committee and in 2022 was awarded the NFL Physicians Society Arthur C. Rettig Award for Academic Excellence in Research for advancing the health and safety of players in the NFL. He was the recipient of the Jerome Bettis Humanitarian of the Year Award.

Academically, he has authored more than 300 scientific papers, seven books, and 60 book chapters. A scholastic All-American in football at IU, he would go on to become a triathlete, competing in over 100 races, including eight Ironman distance finishes, five in Kona, Hawaii. Along with Joe Montana, Kareem Abdul Jabbar, John Havlichek and Phil Niekro , he was inducted into the Lou Holtz Hall of Fame for his sports contributions.